FLN Webinar: The Fire Learning Trail

link ANNOUNCEMENT

Friday, June 9, 2017
10 am Pacific | 11 am Mountain | noon Central | 1 pm Eastern

ADD TO YOUR CALENDAR              JOIN THE WEBINAR NOW

When it comes to providing your visitors with insight into the world of land management and the role of fire and forestry in native communities, it is difficult to duplicate the effectiveness of a taking someone to the woods for a day. As valuable as it would be, staffing and resource limitations make this type of outreach activity impractical. However, a Fire Learning Network-supported project resulting from a joint effort between The Nature Conservancy, USDA Forest Service and the Consortium of Appalachian Fire Managers and Scientists is designed to provide a similar experience.  

Established in 2015, the Fire Learning Trail is a first of its kind enhanced interpretive trail in North Carolina's Pisgah National Forest near the Linville Gorge Wilderness. The trail includes signage and a podcast-style audio tour featuring the Grandfather RD's Fire Management Officers to introduce visitors to the role of fire in this area, and to wildland firefighters and local history. 

In this webinar Jenifer Bunty (Public Information Coordinator, Consortium of Appalachian Fire Managers and Scientists) will discuss the Fire Learning Trail, its expansion to neighboring areas and landscapes, data on its use, lessons learned from the project development, costs, the origin of #goodfire, and how enhanced interpretive trails can be used effectively in other areas to accomplish outreach objectives.      

Listen to audio tour segments: http://www.appalachianfire.org/thefirelearningtrail/


GO BACK »