The Oregon Forest Program:

Fire has been an integral part of Oregon’s iconic forests for millennia—specifically the ponderosa and mixed-conifer forests of the southwest, central and eastern part of the state—some 19.5 million acres in all. In a mosaic of patches large and small, lightning-ignited fires burned every 10-20 years or so, usually burning low-to-the-ground with small flare-ups of more severe fire. Each burn consumed fuel, enriched soils and ensured the vitality of the forest and the plants and wildlife that relied on it.

The last century of management disrupted this natural, healthy cycle. Logging that focused on taking large fire-resistant trees, fire suppression, and livestock grazing have changed some 8.1 million acres of these fire-adapted forests into stands that today are vulnerable to megafire. These forests are now in dire need of restoration.

Restoring these forests—through ecologically-based thinning and controlled burns—will ensure the health of these lands to support improved community safety, jobs, forest product, recreation, clean water, and plant and wildlife habitat.

The Oregon Forest Program is a collaborative effort among The Nature Conservancy and dozens of partners in the public and private sectors to use science, community engagement and innovation to increase the quality, pace, and scale to restore these remarkable forests around the state​.

Where we work:

 

Oregon Forest Team:

Mark Stern
Director, OR Forest Initiative
mstern@tnc.org

Craig Bienz
Director Sycan Marsh Program
cbienz@tnc.org

Pete Caligiuri
Forest Ecologist—Central Oregon
pcaligiuri@tnc.org

Darren Borgias
Director SW Oregon Program
dborgias@tnc.org

Kerry Metlen, Ph.D
Forest Ecologist— SW Oregon
kmetlen@tnc.org

Amanda Stamper
Fire Manager
amanda.stamper@tnc.org

Kerry Kemp Ph.D
Forest Ecologist—NE Oregon
kerry.kemp@tnc.org

Bryce Kellogg
Forest Spatial Analyst
Bryce.Kellogg@tnc.org